CinemaTour
Cinema History Around the World
 HOME ·· CINEMAS ·· FORUM ·· LINKS ·· BOOKS
 Contact Cinematour ·· Help & Hints ·· About Cinematour
Cinematour Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Cinematour Forum   » Cinemas and Theatres   » Theatres right under your nose!

Author Topic: Theatres right under your nose!
Scott D. Neff
Tour Guide

- posted August 12, 2011 05:22 PM      Profile for Scott D. Neff   Email Scott D. Neff         Edit/Delete Post 
So just today while spending an hour or two googling various theatres that I wish had more online exposure, I found that I have been driving past a closed shopping center theatre for TEN YEARS.

On my way to work at the Capitol Drive-In every few months for the last ten years I have passed the Gould Cinemas without ever realizing it. In that time it went from a closed theatre to a boarded up mess. How will I ever get decent photos?!?!

I meet people at parties and can amaze them by telling them where they're from simply by learning what their multiplex of choice was growing up; but I didn't know about a 3-plex in a shopping center I've driven past dozens of times? One that looks like it was BEGGING for a 3-plex?!

I haven't felt this violated since AMC built a theatre at the intersection of the busiest highways in the Bay Area and I didn't know about it until opening day.

Has this ever happened to you? We're the nerd-elite of the theatre world and I want to understand how things can slip past right under our noses!

How many of us knew this mess of a theatre was being built? I know I didn't until Krikorian had closed it.

Next I'm going to find out that there used to be a GCC across the street from my house. Then I'll need a padded room.

Good weekend to all!

|  IP: Logged

Christopher Crouch

- posted August 13, 2011 04:22 AM      Profile for Christopher Crouch   Email Christopher Crouch         Edit/Delete Post